Raheem Sterling named FWA Footballer of the Year

Raheem Sterling has been named the Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year.

The Manchester City star has played a vital role in the success of Pep Guardiola’s team, scoring 17 goals and providing 12 assists in the English Premier League.

He wrote on Instagram: ‘Very proud with the PFA Young Player of the year, and truly thankful. Incredible support for the whole season, let’s go for more!’

The 24-year-old becomes the first Manchester City winner of football’s oldest award for 50 years.

Sterling was a clear winner in the vote of over 400 FWA members, taking 62 per cent of the poll and 100 votes more than Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk.

Manchester City forward Sergio Aguero was third.

Other players to receive votes were Harry Kane, Eden Hazard, Alexandre Lacazette, Bernardo Silva and David Silva.


Bay Way Hoodie (Unisex)

Our limited-edition hoodie just dropped. Grab yours now!