Now playing

Getting artist name | Getting song name


Premier League releases fixtures for the 2019-2020 season

Manchester City will start the defence of their Premier League title at West Ham.

The 2019-20 fixtures, announced on Thursday morning, handed Pep Guardiola’s team an opening match at a venue which has proved to be productive for them since 2017.

City, who have won successive Premier League titles, have picked up three points in east London in the last three seasons – scoring four goals on each occasion.

The champions follow their August 10 lunchtime trip to the London Stadium with a home match against Tottenham.

Liverpool, pipped by a point to the title by City, get next season up and running on Friday, August 9 at home to newly-promoted Norwich. Clashes against Southampton, Arsenal, Burnley, Newcastle and Chelsea round out their first six fixtures.

Last season’s top two meet at Anfield on November 9, subject to TV confirmation, with the return at the Etihad scheduled for April 4.

The standout fixture of the opening weekend is Manchester United hosting Chelsea to round off the match day.

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer will be keen to start the season well after an alarming slump during the run-in last term. Meanwhile, much like last season, the identity of Chelsea’s manager for their first game remains unknown.

Tottenham kick off a season in their own stadium for the first time in three seasons, as they face Aston Villa.

Other fixtures worth looking out for are the first heavyweight clashes of the new season.

The first north London derby of the season between Arsenal and Spurs will be played on August 31 at the Emirates Stadium, while the first Manchester derby will take place at the Etihad Stadium on December 7.

There will be a mid-season break for the first time, with a two-week winter break in February between match days 26 and 27.

Opening weekend’s fixtures:

9 Aug 2019 Liverpool v Norwich City 20:00 BST

10 Aug 2019 West Ham v Manchester City 12:30 BST

10 Aug 2019 Bournemouth v Sheffield United 15:00 BST

10 Aug 2019 Burnley v Southampton 15:00 BST

10 Aug 2019 Crystal Palace v Everton15:00 BST

10 Aug 2019 Leicester City v Wolves 15:00 BST

10 Aug 2019 Watford v Brighton 15:00 BST

10 Aug 2019 Tottenham v Aston Villa 17:30 BST

11 Aug 2019 Newcastle United v Arsenal 14:00 BST

11 Aug 2019 Manchester United v Chelsea 16:30 BST