Malta To Allow Flights to 19 Countries From 1st July 2020


Minister for Tourism, Julia Farrugia Portelli, whilst being interviewed on TVM last night, announced that Malta will be allowing flights to 19 Countries once the Airport reopens.

She said that the reopening date of Malta’s Airport has been confirmed for the 1st July 2020, following discussions with the Health Authorities.

Minister Farrugia Portelli said that the list of countries will be announced in the coming hours, adding that eventually, more countries will be added to the list.



Farrugia Portelli also said that a number of precautionary measures will be in place when the Airport opens its doors again. These include, online check-in, temperature checks on arrival and departure, as well as social distancing being in place at boarding.

Asked about whether there will be a 14-day mandatory quarantine in place, Minister Farrugia Portelli said that this will not apply, as otherwise it would not make sense to reopen the airport.


Photo: aapsky –