Malta Signs the UN Nuclear Ban Treaty


A few days after the commemoration of the 75th anniversary of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki (6th and 9th August of 1945), Malta joined other member states of the United Nations to sign a treaty which has the ambition of a world which is free from nuclear weapons.

Minister for Foreign and European Affairs Evarist Bartolo conferred full powers to the Permanent Representative of Malta to the United Nations Vanessa Frazier to sign the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW) on behalf of the government of Malta. The ceremony was held on the 24th of August, at the United Nations Headquarters in New York.

Following this signature, Malta became the eighty-fourth UN member state to sign the treaty, which has become better known as the Nuclear Ban Treaty.



The Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons prohibits, among others, the production, stockpiling, transfer, stationing and threat of use of nuclear weapons. The TPNW prohibits the deployment of nuclear weapons on national territory and the provision of assistance to any state in the conduct of prohibited activities.

Whilst other treaties exist banning a whole myriad of dangerous weapons, this particular treaty is the first of its kind by calling for a prohibition of nuclear weapons.

Malta trusts that the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons can soon enter into force following the fiftieth ratification by UN member states.

Bay Way Hoodie (Unisex)

Our limited-edition hoodie just dropped. Grab yours now!